

P.O.Box-178, Mae Sod, Tak-63110, Thailand. Email: aasyc.ghq@gmail.com

## Date: 26<sup>th</sup> September, 22007

# Statement on the 4<sup>th</sup> conference of "All Arakan Students' and Youths' Congress (AASYC)"

The fourth conference of the All Arakan Students' and Youths' Congress (AASYC) has been successfully held from the  $22^{nd}$  to the  $26^{th}$  of September 2007 in Thai-Burma Border.

25 representatives participated in the conference, and the organizational structure has been changed from the previous presidential system to the secretarial system, according to the decision of the conference. Besides the 6 objectives set in the third conference, another objective "to preserve the ecosystem and cultural heritage of Arakan" has been added in this conference. Furthermore, we succeeded in reopening the regional branch office of Bangladesh, which had been forced to be closed under the then-and-there circumstances, in line with the constitutional amendments.

### The seven political objectives of AASYC

- 1) To promote physical fitness, intelligence, virtue, socio-economical status and friendship of Arakanese students and youths
- 2) To preserve the ecosystem and cultural heritage of Arakan
- 3) To build national solidarity
- 4) To eliminate any forms of Colonialism, Chauvinism and Dictatorship
- 5) To liberate the whole oppressed ethnic nationalities
- 6) To gain democracy and human rights
- 7) To achieve self-determination and self-identification of Arakan

In order to implement the objectives above, 11 members were appointed to the Central Executive Committee in accordance with voting regulations.

### Advisory Board

- 1) U Htwan Warm (MP Elect, Marmbra/ CEC, Arakan League for Democracy)
- 2) U Aung Hla Phru
- 3) U Khine Oo Maung
- 4) U Thiha (President, Young Monk Union of Arakan- Exile)

### Presidium

(1) Comrade Zaw Zaw Aung

### **Central Executive Committee**

1) Comrade Aung Marm Oo	(General Secretary)
2) Comrade Htwan Zaw	(Secretary 1)
3) Comrade Kyaw Myint	(Secretary 2)
4) Comrade Tun Tun	(Central Executive Committee member)
5) Comrade Thein Aung	(Central Executive Committee member)
6) Comrade Marm Thaik Htwan	(Central Executive Committee member)
7) Comrade Myo Marm Htwan	(Central Executive Committee member)
8) Comrade Kyaw Htwee	(Central Executive Committee Member)
9) Comrade Saw Htwan	(Central Executive Committee member)
10) Comrade Khine Mrat Naing	(Central Executive Committee Member)
11) Comrade Nyrein Nyrein Lwon	(Central Executive Committee member)

- 1) In harmony with the internal and external revolutionary and political forces, we shall strive to achieve self-determination and conceive a genuine democratic political roadmap.
- 2) We shall prioritize programs to bring up new-generation leadership and resourcefulness of students and youths.
- 3) We shall fight for the elimination of military dictatorship and chauvinism in hands with the revolutionary and political alliance, and domestic and foreign Arakanese nationalist forces that hold the common goal.
- 4) We shall protect from and fight the exploitation of the natural resources and imposition of political, economical, social, and cultural restrictions without public consent.
- 5) We shall implement programs to promote the role of the Arakanese women in and out of Arakan.
- 6) We shall exert our effort to deepen national solidarity and intensify cooperation with the Arakan national revolutionary and political forces.
- 7) We shall strive our utmost for the participation of all Arakanese masses in Arakan national revolution.

Central Executive Committee All Arakan Students' and Youths' Congress (AASYC) GHQ, Thai-Burma Border

Media Contact: Comrade Aung Marm Oo (General Secretary): + 66 (0) 81- 6736326 : Comrade Kyaw Myint (Secretary- 2, BD): + 88 (0) 1817078113